Welcome to my blog!

Posted on November 4, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I am the author of The Power of a Promise: Education and Economic Renewal in Kalamazoo, the first comprehensive account of the origins and initial impact of the Kalamazoo Promise. I have created this blog to share my thoughts on the Kalamazoo Promise as it evolves and to engage in dialogue with others who are interested in new approaches to community transformation.

Among the topics that I intend to address in coming months are these:

  • How important is the Kalamazoo Promise as a model for community development? Does the experiment under way in Kalamazoo matter for those outside the community (I think the answer is yes!) and why?
  • Why are so many other communities emulating Kalamazoo? What are they getting right and wrong in their approaches?
  • Closer to home, why has Kalamazoo struggled so mightily to organize itself effectively around the Kalamazoo Promise? This is the million-dollar question ($20 million, actually) for my own community.

I also plan to use this blog as a place for my more personal musings on the topics I care most about, especially the inequality that permeates our world, its costs, and how we might overcome it.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Welcome to my blog!”

RSS Feed for The Promise of Kalamazoo Comments RSS Feed


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

